Living in a box

20150709_062612

I remember my husband told me about this many times over the phone and on Skype… ” I am tired of living in a box”… and that time I thought well, not many people have the opportunity to live in a good hotel all expenses paid and all you can eat buffet every time!  Until I have experienced it myself.

The novelty wears off.

I am now craving for my space, my own contributions to where I am going to live in.  A place where nobody can interrupt your sleep because they have to clean the room.. (oh yeah they are sometimes blind not seeing either the paper or the red light panel outside your “unit”).  A place where I can cook my own healthy foods so I don’t see my waist expanding every day!.  A place where my son can run around without hesitation if he is waking or disturbing anybody.  A place I can call home in the Middle East.

Lots of expats are having the same dilemma as me and some don’t have a choice really because it is the employer who is paying the bills.  Most employers have their own corporate rates in every hotel in any City. Luckily, we have a choice now just after we went to my husband corporate meeting (and yes we tag along if it’s going to be a long time away or no definite day to come back to living in our “box”) and so here we are to our next adventure of looking for our own place.  I am thrilled that perhaps in a week’s time we are already in our own BIG space where my son can do his running and hide and seek.  I tell you living in a box doesn’t give you more choices to hide anyway!

Now I know how it feels like living in a hotel with a feeling of an indefinite period of when to go and it is not nice at all. But hey, don’t get me wrong… I still want to go to a hotel to relax and unwind away from the “big space” and routine.  It helps to satisfy one or few days of being away so you are happy to come back again to the comfort of your own home, and yes…

There is no place in the World to be better, than home with FAMILY…

5 thoughts on “Living in a box

  1. Oh I definitely understand your situation. You’re not settled so you can’t truly relax. Glad you’ll be in your own place soon so your son can run and play and you can have your own space to call home!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You know how funny this sounds- I was just saying I wish I live in a hotel because there’s room service and housekeeping. I don’t have to worry about fixing anything etc. (we are currently looking at remodeling our kitchen). I get so tired of cleaning my house and wait impatiently for the housekeeper to show up on Wednesdays. Oh well. I suppose what you have in life is something that you don’t want and seek for other things. It’s always greener on the other side 😜. Well I’m not sure if you found a home in the Middle East yet?

    Like

  3. Hi thanks for the comment 🙂 this post was back in August so yes we finally found a perfect place to live. Just the right location – in the middle! not far from the airport and the City yet just a few minutes away by car. A fully furnished hotel-apartment which is fully serviced (cleaners + amenities gym & pool + restaurants & bar) lots of expats living here. Sorry, cannot say where for privacy haha! Plus the fact that we don’t have to worry about the bills (power & water) 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

