Image

Destination: Zurich, another home.

 

img_5025

Zurich old town

Now may I continue my blog about our mid-year holiday (sorry backlog) from my husband’s turf this time.  From the south of Switzerland, see this for LUGANO and LOCARNO for the past blog. We head back to our base which is in north central of Switzerland famously known for as Zurich.  Just a few hours near the border to Germany.  Obviously, they speak German here but their dialect is Swiss German which has a softer tone and every City like Bern (Capital of Switzerland) also have their own. I have been to both but will focus about Zurich for now.  Our holiday was not about being a tourist.  We came because we have families and friends there so I will show you around as what the locals usually do and where they usually go.

We came back just in time for Swiss National Day (August 1st) and it became very festive late afternoon to midnight.  The feeling is similar to New Year Eve’s party! so yes there was some food stalls, overflowing of beers, live bands, dancing and fireworks and Swiss lanterns for children to hold on to.  We went to 2 different locations and the one below are the place we have stayed until midnight.  It was a different feeling as I am the only one in the family who is not a Swiss… yet.

 

20160801_221338

bonfires for Swiss Nat’l Day, vinneve photo

Lots of parks around Zurich and this one is just 10-15 minutes away from our place near Uetliberg (famous mountain and park with a panoramic view of the entire city of Zurich and the lake). 

20160725_151850

Wildnispark Langenberg, vinneve photo

 Wildnispark Zurich Langenberg is huge and good for people who loves to walk plus there is a mini zoo everywhere and perhaps judging by the looks of the photo below you now understand why “wildnispark“?  The wild deer freely roaming the other side of the mountain and just a short fence that separating them to us while walking.  Even the bears are just a few metres away from us.  We got lucky they came out from the forest (as last time 3yrs+ ago we didn’t see any of them) and now the mama bear have some baby bears to show off!  😉

20160725_151507

Wild deer on the way to the other side of the park, vinneve photo

Now since I mentioned about Uetliberg, here are some photos from our previous travel. Photos may not do justice to it as I have an old simple digital camera on hand.  Please click this LINK so you will know more about it from their official website.

I have a fear of heights so I didn’t dare to go up on this tower.  My brave son and his grandpa did though although I may say it is hard on the knee for an old man to go up this high using just a stairs… it shows how much his love for his grandson to please him.  Below pics are some of the beautiful sights even on the ground if you don’t want to try going up in the tower.

Do not worry as there are some restaurants from the bottom of the hill as well as up there.  You can either go by train or by car to go to this place.  

It is really better to travel around Switzerland with some locals so you will enjoy some tourist spot but not crowded and something that is not usually on the tourist priority list.  Come and follow me as I still have some more to post about Zurich, Basel and Zug.

For the meantime, why don’t you check and click the link to my other post around Switzerland on this LINK1, LINK2 & LINK3.  Thanks and see you again next time.

13 thoughts on “Destination: Zurich, another home.

  1. Love the pictures! I also went to Zurich ,too, but not to stay there. I was going to Austria but it took two flights so I can technically say that I went to Zurich (in an airport)

    Like

  2. Beautiful!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I love these photos – so happy.
    I have friends in Neuschatel and Geneva….was there for a peace workshop a few years ago.
    Great post. Lovely to reconnect with you,
    Debbie thanks for the visit to my blog!

    Like

    • Hi thanks for the comment appreciated it as I prefer my reader to say something 😉 Yes it’s too close but it’s comfortable as there is a water and fence between us besides I think they are used to people. They come down from the hill when they like it so there are times people in the Park cannot see any of them. We are just lucky that finally we meet the family! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I encourage comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.